Ballistics Program that Includes Scope Clicks??

LVJ76

Well-Known Member
LRH Team Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2019
Messages
3,873
Location
Tucson, Arizona
Is there a reason you want it in clicks rather than just moa or mils? (depending on scope of coarse) it’s a whole lot faster to spin that turret to 4.5 moa rather then count to 18?

Because MOA is just a bit more than an inch. At long ranges they don't match up.

1 MOA = 1.047"

Might not seem much, but a longer ranges it makes a difference in several inches.
 
D

Deleted member 107666

Guest
Because MOA is just a bit more than an inch. At long ranges they don't match up.

1 MOA = 1.047"

Might not seem much, but a longer ranges it makes a difference in several inches.
Say what? Scopes are in MOA or mils...inches has nothing to do with dialing turrets.

The INCH column displayed on ballistic apps in NOT for dialing, I repeat NOT for dailing. Its for reference to bullet drop only.

I hope somebody here is not dialing inches for long range dope and then wondering why their data is all FUBAR.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Ingwe

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 3, 2011
Messages
1,032
Is there a reason you want it in clicks rather than just moa or mils? (depending on scope of coarse) it’s a whole lot faster to spin that turret to 4.5 moa rather then count to 18?
I don't really understand MOA plus I want to put turret stickers on the dial for ranges
 
D

Deleted member 107666

Guest
I don't really understand MOA plus I want to put turret stickers on the dial for ranges
Nothing to understand dude, just turn the turrets till it matches the elevation in MOA the app says. You can literally read it right off the turret to confirm it's correct.
 

LVJ76

Well-Known Member
LRH Team Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2019
Messages
3,873
Location
Tucson, Arizona
Say what? Scopes are in MOA or mils...inches has nothing to do with dialing turrets.

The INCH column displayed on ballistic apps in NOT for dialing, I repeat NOT for dilating. Its for reference to bullet drop only, FFS.

I hope somebody here is not dialing inches for long range dope and then wondering why their data is all FUBAR.

My scopes come with 1/4" clicks, not 1/4 MOA, meaning 4 clicks = 1.00", not 1 MOA.
 

Ckleeves

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 26, 2014
Messages
935
Location
Montrose, CO
You’re way overthinking this. Here is a screenshot from shooter. For 500 yards is it easier to spin the turret to 8 or to count to 32 and try to not get lost or miss a click?
ABF86580-3B06-4664-9893-5B7E42C7703E.png
 
D

Deleted member 107666

Guest
My scopes come with 1/4" clicks, not 1/4 MOA, meaning 4 clicks = 1.00", not 1 MOA.
On ballistic turrets or under the cap it says 1/4"? The only one I can think that does that is the old zeiss conquests with capped turrents. It's 1/4 per click for zeroing purposes, but that's not a dialer.

I've not been around forever, but I've never seen a ballistic turret from anything relatively recent marked in inches not moa/mil
 

LVJ76

Well-Known Member
LRH Team Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2019
Messages
3,873
Location
Tucson, Arizona
What scopes have dialable inch turrets?

I have two 25+ yr old Leupold Vari-X III's with Target Dot reticles. Both 6.5x20, and one of them has the Custom Premier 18x40 reticle. Both are marked 1/4" @ 100 yds. The original 6.5x20 I have on my Silhouette 7mm-08, needs a few more clicks at 500m to make up for the difference of inches vs. moa

I do have a newer leupold and some Vortex scopes that have the MOA turret system. I should've been more clear, and not cause confusion for the OP or anyone else.
 
D

Deleted member 107666

Guest
Ok so for 500, is that 8 clicks? Not sure that I understand
Are your turrets MOA? Are they 1/4 MOA adjustments...so 0 - - - 1 as you turn? For 8 MOA, you'd dial that turret to 8. Don't overcomplicate things.

Think of it like a ruler dude...if you needed to measure 8.25 inches on a ruler, you'd go the the #8 and then one extra 1/4 mark to 8 1/4, correct? Same thing for your turrets, they just display MOA instead of inches, the dashes in between are most likely 1/4 moa per dash.

for 1 MOA up just turn it to 1. For 17.75 up, you go to 17 and then 3 more clicks.
 

Ckleeves

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 26, 2014
Messages
935
Location
Montrose, CO
If you have 1/4 moa turrets they will be labeled 0 where you set your zero. then you would have .25-.50 and .75 then the one minute mark would be labeled 1. Then 1.25-1.50-1.75 and then the 2 moa mark would be labeled 2 and so on and so forth. So if it calls 8.25 moa you would spin to 8 and then add one click. 12.75 would be 12 full minutes (the 12 on your moa dial) and then 3 additional clicks to make the .75.
 
Top