AR15 1:10 best reload

volinTN

I have built an AR15 with a 24" Olympic Arms SSMatch barrel with a 1:10 twist. I took it to the range and tried several different loads. It did not like anything in the 55 gr bullets. Seemed like my best results are going to be with a 69 gr SMK. I had some loaded with 25.3 Varget which were just OK. I had 6 old loads with 24 gr of 4895. They grouped pretty well. Does anybody with a similiar barrel have any loads that worked real well for them? I am a newbie to this site and appreciate any help you can give me.

I would think the 1:10 would like about any 55 grain bullet. What brands and profiles did you try? What were your group sizes? The 69 gr. SMK should be right at the edge of working in a 1:10. Glad to hear they worked out for you.

Brad

I tried a handload with 55 gr Blitz King and Varget. Also tried some GA arms 52 gr match loads and Bitterroot 55 gr V max factory loads. A friend gave me a handload using 55 gr V max and H335. Also tried a 75 gr load of his. None of these grouped less than 3 inches at 100 yds.

That's what I was thinking BigSky. With a twist like that it should run lighter bullets. Kind of crazy it likes the 69 grain SMKs, huh.

Brad

No surprise there, since a 1x10" is actually the ideal twist for a 69 SMK. Also, don't forget that if you've got a buttoned barrel the twist may vary 1/2" or so in either direction from the stated twist. If you happen to get one that runs a bit faster than what it's listed as, it'll handle bullets that it supposedly shouldn't. If it goes the other way (slower) it may not be able to stabilize bullets it "should". if it's handling the 69s well, run 'em!

BMP- I was leanin' more towards less than 50gr, I would think the barrel would max out for stability around 55, and he said he couldn't get them to shoot well.

Kevin- Good to know that's a twist for 69SMK