Anybody load for semi-automatics ,Browning

James Jones

I got a buddy that has just bought a Browning BAR
short trac in 270WSM and hes wanting me to work up some loads for it , hes wanting to shoot 140gr bullets out of it as fast as possible but I don't know how to go about dealing with the pressure signs in the autos are they the same as bolt guns or will one start to see problems with the gun before pressure signs show up.
I'm planing to use 4831SC as athe powder and 140Gr Nosler BT's
Any help would be appercisted

I'm not going to tell you I'm an expert but here goes some of my experience and "hearsay" from the forums. Some people say don't go any faster than I4350 in a bar. Others have said that's now a wives tail that they handle powders right up to re22. I've loaded for my bar and have used slow powders and never had a jam or any damage that I know of.
I can say this for sure. My buddy just got one in 7wsm. We went to the range with some nosler factory 160 pars and I was thinking with an auto and most likely mild factory loaded ammo we'll be lucky to see 2800 fps. It came out doing a whopping 3060 fps. WOW--that ammo is loaded warm.

My suggestion to him when he starts loading is to use loads around 4350 powder charges and chrono up and see where he stands against that factory charge while watching for pressure signs. (I'll be watching over his headspacing to watch for false signs like extractor rings and stretching cracks.)

I would recomend to you that you chrono your buddy's ammo and do the same. Maybe pull down a bullet and weigh the powder to get a guestimate of the burn rate.

These WSM's aren't fooling around for speed....and the pressure must be there to make the speed....this will be a whole new ballgame for reloaders working with these suckers in auto's.