Annealing ???

KSB209

I am brand new to reloading. While I learn the basics is annealing really necessary? I'm still reading and learning and this process seems to be something the top loaders rely on. While I learn the craft should I include this process from the beginning or after I figure out the basics?

I'm on year 8 and have made some great ammo and shot some great groups, only just got an annealer because I like to fiddle more and more. Your brass may not last as long, but you can certainly learn a ton and have great success without one. If anything, you like won't be able to shoot (or in this case, load) the difference for a while. Focused your efforts elsewhere.

It depends but I would say yes if you can comfortably afford it. There are 2 major reasons for case neck annealing:
Case life
Repeatable and consistent neck tension.

Unless you run a tight neck clearance and low neck tension the necks will eventually split. Now if you are a hotrodder then it may not be a viable point as your primer pockets will be shot first. But if you get more than 5+ reloads its possible to extend case life via preventing neck splitting.

The other major one, and most complex, is to get precision tension on the bullet as close to equal each individual loading and between cases.

I guess there is one more and its psychological. Knowing you are doing extra steps to increase, first and foremost, consistency and also precision. This can and does increase confidence bwhich can certainly have an effect on the shooters performance which can be seen,many times, on the target.

There are other reasons when you get into wildcatting and change neck diameter or change the shoulder location moving the neck area to thicker harder parts of the case.