Advice on new rifle

Ryan55555

OK - I am ready to purchase a new rifle. I plan to use this for hunting elk and maybe someday a moose when I draw a tag. I have been using a Browing A-Bolt 270 win for the past 10 years, I absolutely love shooting it. I have been handloading for the past 5-6 years and have learned some of the techniques/tricks that have helped me really dial in my 270. I have installed a Boyds thumbhole stock, fit, finished and glass bedded it myself, installed a lighter spring for the trigger so I have some basic knowledge about this rifle stuff. I have taken several elk with this gun and I feel confident shooting it but I want a new toy to work with and see if I can extend my range a bit.

Last saturday I went and shot the Spirit Ridge Rifle Golf Course and had a blast, this long range stuff can be addicting. I did not do as well as I thought I would but it was windy and I was shooting my 204 which did great at the close target but not to good at the long ones.

I am leaning toward buying a Remington Sendero II in 300 RUM. I have a Remington VSSF II in a 204 so two of my guns would be very similar in weight, feel, trigger, etc. Probably on the extreme opposite for recoil. I would have a DE brake installed to reduce the recoil. I am thinking of putting a Zeiss Conquest scope on it, most likely a 4.5-14 but maybe a 6.5-20.

Now for a few of my questions:

1) Caliber - I am almost set on the 300 RUM but some buddies have some 7mm and they shoot rather well with them. Any comments are welcome.

2) How good is the H.S. Precision stock that is on the Sendero's? Does bedding improve it?

3) Is having the action trued and bolt faced money well spent for this gun?

4) Bullet - I have had some success (on paper, not yet on animals) with Bergers in my 270. Is the 210g a good choice?

5) What is the approximate COAL to make these shoot well? Will it fit in the factory magazine?