Advice on 338 lapua 285 eldm

CNY Yote Hunter

Hi all, new member here from upstate NY. I'm in need of advice on loading for a 338 lapua as this is my first time loading for one. I've been reloading for over 20 years, mainly 243, 308, 223 etc. Anyways my load is... nosler brass, 91.5 retumbo, 285 eld m projectiles. I'm reading a lot of comments on CBTO at 2.740-2.750. When I seat them at that spec it almost puts the ogive into the neck! Is this normal for the lapua? My COAL is 3.565 The powder isnt compressed at all but it just seems off to me. Anyone loading for this have any advice? Thanks in advance!!

What is your setup? Factory chamber? How long is your chamber from the bolt face to where the ogive would meet the lands? I'm assuming you want it to be a repeater? Have you tried taking it out any further? You don't really want the the boat tail much south of the neck shoulder junction if you can help it but with big cases, long bullets, and wanting a repeater can make it difficult.

Last edited:
Thanks for the replies! My setup is the new Ruger RPR. I have not measured to the lands yet, I did get out today and let off 20 rounds. Only at a 100 yards though cause the wind was about 20mph today. Anyways that load I tried with my CBTO of 2.740 shot excellent. After zeroing I did a ten shot group, 1/2 moa all day if I did my part. Had 2 pulls out of that group that opened it up to almost an inch. Will say this, I definitely need some trigger time behind such a massive cartridge cause I definitely anticipated the shot. Lots of practice to follow. I had another guy respond and say his RPR he loads CBTO 2.96 if I remember right and said he still had quite a jump to the lands. He was only able to load the 2.96 cause that's all the mag will handle. I will get a measurement tomorrow and post it .

My guess is you won't reach the lands and be able to mag feed. It's not the end of the world. At this point your accuracy seems pretty good. You're just chasing speed now.