advice on .308 powder

forest

Hi guys just getting into reloading for the range. I have a few kg of BL-C2 hodgdon, and lapua brass. Is this a good foundation for long range target? I will be using .308. 26 inch barrel remmy 700.
Also any advice which bullets and weight? As I said I am new to this maybe I should have asked all this before I bought powder.:) I would appreciate any advice as I am a novice at range shooting over distance.

Hi guys just getting into reloading for the range. I have a few kg of BL-C2 hodgdon, and lapua brass. Is this a good foundation for long range target? I will be using .308. 26 inch barrel remmy 700.
Also any advice which bullets and weight? As I said I am new to this maybe I should have asked all this before I bought powder.:) I would appreciate any advice as I am a novice at range shooting over distance.

never tried it

44gr Varget is my go to load

I play with RL15, VN140 and CFE223

I like the RL15 but always wind up back with varget

What distance do you intend to shoot? This will help with which bullet and your powder. Are you open to trying other powders? I am assuming your barrels twist is a 1-10.

If you're going to shoot at 800 to 1000 yards (long range in USA NRA matches), 190, 200 and 210-gr. bullets will probably shoot most accurate in your 1:10 twist 26 inch barrel. 47 to 48 grains of IMR4350 under 200's in .308's have won many a match at long range; I've done that a few times. Or 42 grains of IMR4064 and 44 grains of IMR4320 under 190's will do and have done as well.

After you've used up that BL-C2 ball powder, get some stick/extruded powders. Those in speeds of Varget and IMR4895 for 150-gr. or so bullets, IMR4064 or IMR4320 for 168 to 190's. Ball powders do not have a good track record in long range accuracy events. Medium and short range ones, too, for that matter. Meanwhile, BL-C2 will probably do best with 150 to 170 grain bullets.