Action Question

beattie buk

Ok here's the deal, As you may guess i am new to the long range hunting thing, although its something that has interested me for years now. I have struggled with what bullet i wanted for a while but I think I will settle for a 280. I hunt primarily in Tx. but would like to be able to hunt bigger game up North if I can ever get time and money on my side. I plan on starting my first build soon and I have a few questions.
What action should I choose? (Leaning towards Remmington)
Is there a certain model thats better than the rest and why?
Is there any reason why I should stay with a 3006 which was my first choice a year or so ago?
Any insight I can get from yall would be much appreciated. :)

Ok here's the deal, As you may guess i am new to the long range hunting thing, although its something that has interested me for years now. I have struggled with what bullet i wanted for a while but I think I will settle for a 280. I hunt primarily in Tx. but would like to be able to hunt bigger game up North if I can ever get time and money on my side. I plan on starting my first build soon and I have a few questions.
What action should I choose? (Leaning towards Remmington)
Is there a certain model thats better than the rest and why?
Is there any reason why I should stay with a 3006 which was my first choice a year or so ago?
Any insight I can get from yall would be much appreciated. :)

The 700 Remington action is the easiest to find and has after market parts for everything.

With good smithing they are great performers.

The 280 is also a great cartridge for deer and elk at extended ranges with a very good selection
of bullets for the re loader and good factory loads also.

Recoil is a little less than the 30/06 but the performance is better in most cases except for
the larger bullets (The largest bullets for the 280 will be from 180 to 200 grains and the 30/06
can shoot 240 grain bullets.

J E CUSTOM