A question about EYES

Chrismadrid

OK so here goes.

The other day (well night in fact) I noted that I had to adjust the ocular lens to a different dioptric setting at night to that set up in daylight - reticle was well blurred. So dug out ALL the ill-ret scopes I have and seems generalised - i.e not a dodgy scope - more likely dodgy eyes!

Not sure if this is commonplace or I really do NEED to get to an optician - I'm long sighted. Odd thing is that the setting was nearer to "0" at night.

As the eyepiece (or ocular lens at the back of the scope) does focus the reticule image going to your eye so you can see it, if you had to change the eyepiece setting your eye lens (cornea) has changed.

I think you need an eye exam because your eyes have changed.

If you are getting old I can recommend a good pediatrician.

Now then being an engineer I am highly qualified to perform most major surgeries and know just about everything about the human body.

It is my prognosis that you have a bad set of rods and your engine needs a major overhaul but it does seem as if your cones are doing OK

Eye biology
bad rods

Stupid humor aside - Day vison uses cone cells and night vision uses rod cells in the eyes.

If you are one of us who hate to meet a BMW or Mercedes on the road at night because those blue headlights are just blinding then your problem is that your rod cells are getting old just like the rest of you. The blue headlights do not bother the kids.

Maybe some of the older coyote night hunters have some words of wisdom on what to do. Personally I am afraid of the dark and don't hunt at night because the vampires and werewolves would get me.

I am just so happy to be going hunting tomorrow it is hard to be serious. Sorry about the stupidity.

/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/laugh.gif /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/laugh.gif /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/laugh.gif

[ QUOTE ]
If you are one of us who hate to meet a BMW or Mercedes on the road at night

[/ QUOTE ]