7mm STW

Ankeny

I just hate the Internet threads that start out one caliber vs. another caliber but here I am asking for some information. I am still trying to set my brother up with a factory rifle and factory cartridge for the old deer/elk combo rifle out to 500-600 yards. I will be loading the ammo, but his budget won't support a custom gun in a wildcat so a factory chambering is in order.

As a left handed shooter, he has settled on an Accumark and I have found several. He isn't a fan of Weatherby cartridges but I have found an lefty Accumark in a .300 Win Mag and several in 7mm STW. I did a search here and came up empty on the 7mm STW. I have had local experts tell me the 7mm STW is the neatest thing since sliced bread, others tell me it just has a healthy appetite for powder and offers little more than a 7mm Remington Magnum. I have no first hand knowledge or either caliber, but I have shot a .30-.338 for many years so I have a good idea what to expect out of a .300 Win Mag.

The .300 Win Mag is priced $135.00 more than the 7mm STW. I am so tempted to just get the .300 Win Mag, but I am wondering if the 7mm STW might have an advantage over the .300 such as less recoil, flatter shooting, etc. Which would you choose? Flip a coin? For the $135.00 difference I could get a decent set of dies, lol.

Ankeny,

Ballistically, the 7mm STW will have the advantage as it will have a higher velocity advantage over the 300 Win. Both are great long range rounds so you can hardly make a mistake with either.

Yes the 7mm STW will have a shorter throat life but for a big game rifle this will not be a concern to be honest.

Loaded properly, the STW offers alot more then the 7mm Rem Mag can offer. Personally I would get the 7mm STW and either a supply of moderatly heavy Wildcat bullets or some 160 gr Accubonds and load them up to 3200 fps and be happy with it.