7mm STW / 175gr. Sierra Gamekings

STW Newcommer

Shooters, I need some help. I am going on an Affrican plains hunt this September and want to be able to be effective out to 600 yds on antelope size game. I am learning how to shoot this distance as I have never done this before.

I have an older model Rem 700 BDL with DM, Zeiss Conquest RapidZ 4.5-15X50mm, and Brake. I measured the barrel from throat to end and got 23.5". It has a 1/9.0 twist. The barrel has no more than 200 rounds through it. The chamber and throat will fit a 3.653 cartridge to touch the rifling. My current load is a conservative 65grs of Vn-165 with a Remmington 9 1/2M Mag Rifle Primer. Grouping 1 MOA with 3 shots then that occasional flyer, always up and rt. about 2" @ 100 yds.

I have selected a 175gr. Sierra Gameking bullet and need advise about powder, bullet jump, primer and if anyone has a favorite load to share.

If there is a better bullet out there I an all ears. I selected the Gameking because I have used them for years very successfully, boattail design, reletively high BC and good availability.

I'm looking at RL-25, H-1000, IMR 7828 and have used Vn-165 but got some flyers with it. Not saying It wasn't my fault.

Also, how cold should the barrel be allowed to get between shots?? ie. room temp, warm, hot but not too hot to hold.....

I appreciate any help, Thanks!

Welcome to the forum.

Everyone has their favorite bullet or load combination. I have nothing bad to say about the SGK but there are plenty of other options out there for sure if that bullet doesn't ever work the way you want it to. I've also never used Viht powders but haven't heard anything bad about them either.

I typically only shoot 3, 4, or 5 shot groups and wait until the barrel cools between groups. With the STW, it's mostly 2 --> 3-shot groups.