7mm RM neck & shoulder black

Tucker943

I am new to reloading this year so bear with me. I reload for a Ruger 77 Hawkeye and am struggling to get acceptable accuracy. I put a new trigger in the gun, floated the barrel, and have tried MANY bullets, powders, brass, primers, and COL's and still cannot get consistancy. I'm not trying to build a tack driver here, but am trying to get this rifle to shoot an inch.

My brass comes out of the action with a black neck and shoulders. When i FL resize it is very bad. When I neck size it isnt as bad but its still filthy. Is this an indication of something i am over looking?

Without seeing any pictures, it can be a sign of too little pressure. The case doesn't expand quickly enough to fill the chamber and some of the gases come back into the chamber.
I reload for the 7mm mag, black necks by themselves is not really of a concern.
What load are you using?
I use 73 gr ADI2217/H1000 fed 215 primer, federal brass and 168 berger.

Stu.

Last edited:
Let me rephrase part of that. I am tried varying my seating depth a bit. I have only let me COL got to 3.29 I believe.

I dont have my notes with me but I have tried tried Nosler 140's with 65g H4350, Nosler 120's with the same powder, Sierra 140 Pro hunters with 63g H 4350, Hornady 162 BTSP's with up to 61g H 4350. I have tried some IMR 4350 with no luck and RL 22. I would need to go back to my book to know exactly what and how much i have tried. Those are a few i have focused on so far that i can remember.

4350 might be a bit fast a powder. Try H4831sc, reloader 22 or H1000, especially with the heavier 160 grain bullets.

Try doing a search on here for "ladder test" or browse through the reloading or bullets, barrels and ballistic section. There are quite a few detailed threads for working up loads.