7mm Rem Mag reloading starting point

Txcntryboy2008

I am looking at starting to reload for my 7mm rem mag, I haven't got any rounds through this gun yet, I'm not sure what it likes or any of that. I am looking for suggestions on a starting place, such as what grain bullets to use. I have some factory Norma ammo I plan to shoot first, then I will reload them. I will use this rifle for hunting only, maybe the occasional targets stretched out just for fun, maybe.. I really like the performance that I have gotten from the Hornady ELD-X, Sierra GameKing and BlitzKing, and also Nosler Partitions in most other calibers I've had, that's mostly all I've reloaded off the top of my head. I would also take some suggestions on what powders that you've had successful loads with as well.

With the components being hard to find right now, any suggestions on what to look at and where to maybe get the components? I have been interested in the Barnes bullets, but I have no experience with them, and I don't know anyone personally with it either.

I appreciate your thoughts and comments. Have a blessed day.

Last edited:
Powders, bullets, primers, brass have all been impossible to find, for the most part. Some have gotten lucky and found some here and there, but usually they sold out in minutes. H-1000, IMR 7828, RL26, get high praise when used with 160-180 grain bullets. I personally shoot the 160 grain Nosler Accubonds with IMR 7828 (ssc). If you have some ammo, I would use it sparingly. No idea when Ammo & components will be available

Powders, bullets, primers, brass have all been impossible to find, for the most part. Some have gotten lucky and found some here and there, but usually they sold out in minutes. H-1000, IMR 7828, RL26, get high praise when used with 160-180 grain bullets. I personally shoot the 160 grain Nosler Accubonds with IMR 7828 (ssc). If you have some ammo, I would use it sparingly. No idea when Ammo & components will be available
Thanks, I appreciate it