7mm Rem Mag best for FClass & Hunting?

sevenmm

:) Greetings from OZ. I am new to the forum, but have been following LRH magazine for a while, so I thought I'd actually join.

I am a long range F-Class shooter and normally use a 308win for our F-Class Standard matches here in Australia. I have been shooting competitively for only 12 months and am getting pretty good results thus far, however a lot of guys over here are following the US trend of going to F-Class Open - these guys are using everything from 6mm Dashers to 284 Win, 300 Win Mags etc, but not too many are using the old tried and proven 7mm Rem Mag.

I have an old 7mm Rem Mag Sendero, which I am re-furbishing (new stainless barrel, Jewell Trigger) and intend on using it in F Open as well as long range hunting (feral goats and deer).

I'd love to hear what you guys in the US think of the 7mm Rem Mag for long range target shooting and hunting ? I mean what are your experiences in terms of this calibre being effective for hunting and being competitive out to 1000m?

I think it will be an interesting poker. I have loved and hunted with the 7mmRM since about 2002. The caliber is the best all-around hunting caliber I have ever seen.

I would be quite interested (and enthused) to see someone using a 7mm in competitions (and hopefully dominating) these days, since the 6.5's have taken over.

Keep us posted, you have my support. :D

I know Bryan Litz used one for Prone competition when he was first starting. I met a guy that uses a 280 AI but never a 7mm remington mag. I was under the impression that F-T/R is growing faster than F-open is here, but I know F-Class is growing in general.

:) Thanks guys - I have used my old Sendero for many years for hunting and it has dispatched pretty much evrything here (other than NT Buffalo).

The 6mm's are very popular here too, but I just can't understand why the 7mm Rem Mag hasn't caught on.

Any other long range/ F-Class experiences out there ?