700 ADL 7mm Rem Mag

wjarrell

I posted this in "The basics/Starting out" forum but it seems like this forum has more traffic.

I'm fairly new to rifles and very green to long range shooting and hunting. I'm not at all interested in competition, just hunting deer sized animals and shooting steel out to 800 yards for practice.

My wife bought me a Remington 700 ADL in 7 rem mag for our wedding anniversary. I was pretty excited about it. She got it from Sportsmans Warehouse, it came with 26" barrel and junk cheap scope, rings, and bases. When I picked up the gun I bought a box of HSM 168 grain vld's and went shooting. While I got it on paper, it was pretty obvious that the scope wouldn't track, aiming at bulls eye and hitting 8 inches to the left and 4 inches high. (I had no expectations for the factory scope or rings.) So for the rest of the box I continued to aim for the same spot to see if I could get the gun to group. If I remember right it was shooting about an inch at 100 yards with the factory scope rings and bases.

I already have one piece Talley rings mounted and in a month or two I will be putting a Vortex Viper HS-T 4-16x44 on it. Next will be a Timney trigger. I'm pretty confident that the new and better rings and scope will improve my groups. If I can get sub moa groups with HSM 168 vld that is what I will shoot, if not I will load for it. Does anyone shoot this gun or have any reviews on it? Am I on the right track?

Thanks, Will

Yes I think you are on the right track, I would change bases mount and rings and get your scope as close to the barrel without touching it as I could, and save what ammo you have to do this again. I believe that the hsm ammo will shoot plenty good for what you are wanting to do I would give it a bore cleaning before your next round of sighting in. just my 2 cents hope this helps