6.5 PRC with 147ELD-M

Allen Kitts

My new shooting stick is finally done and I will be starting the process of getting a hunting load worked up for New Zealand. I will be hunting Red Deer and Tahr in 2023. This is a bucket list hunt for me so I want to make sure of my equipment and my loads. The guide recommended the 147 grain ELD-M out of the 6.5. I have another 6.5 PRC that I am shooting 124 Grain Hammer Hunters out of but have only killed Antelope and a few does with it. My performance was great with the 124 grain Hammers on those animals but it seems to me to be a little light for Red Deer. Just my thoughts. I have no experience with Red Deer at all but am assuming they are about the size of a good cow elk. I also have no experience with the ELD-M. I had originally thought that I would go with the 140 Grain Berger Elite Hunters and they have worked well for me out of my 6.5 x 284 for animal in South Africa on up to Kudu sized game but the guide recommended the 147's so I thought I should ask the question.

What are your thoughts and experience with 147 ELD-M's on Elk sized game?

Rifle is a Gunwerks Clymr
22" Carbon Fiber Barrel
1-8 Twist
It will have a 4-16 x 50 Nightforce ATACR Scope
Gunwerks Unitary Rings
Load Data from Gunwerks for this rifle is as follows. This will be my starting point.
ADG Brass
Fed 215M Primers
COAL 2.955
58.5 Grains of Retumbo

123_1.JPEG

My dad has killed 5 or so cow elk with 147's from his 6.5CM doing 2850fps and my kid killed a nice bull with 147's from his 6.5x47L doing 2725fps. I'm converting my kids to 6.5PRC in the next month and I just built my dad a 6.5 PRC. Both will shoot 147's if they shoot tiny groups like they do now.

My dad has killed 5 or so cow elk with 147's from his 6.5CM doing 2850fps and my kid killed a nice bull with 147's from his 6.5x47L doing 2725fps. I'm converting my kids to 6.5PRC in the next month and I just built my dad a 6.5 PRC. Both will shoot 147's if they shoot tiny groups like they do now.