6.5-284

cdixon

i have pretty much decieded on my new long range rifle. it will be a 6.5-284 with a 28" barrell. i have a winchester laredo in 7mm rem mag that will be the donor action. My main question is that i have never neck turned brass. the smith i plan on using has a reamer w/ a .290nk and a standard neck. is the .290nk hard to make brass for, as i am a beginner? i would like this rifle to function as a repeater, because i would also like to hunt with it as well, so will this be a problem? thanks for you time in helping out a wannabe long range shooter.

cdixon

I'm with S1--go with the .290" nk. My 6.5-284 has a .290" nk. and I only use Lapua brass. You can turn one a minute with the Sinclair tool. I use the K&M tool, which is similar to the Sinclair.
Are you having your 'smith bush the boltface since you are using a magnum(.532" boltface) donor action? You shouldn't have a problem using it as a repeater, as the action is long enough, but the follower may have to be changed and tweaked a little.
I'm still working up loads, but my next powder will be H1000. A buddy of mine's 6.5-284 really likes 142 Sierra MKs and 57.0 gr.I hope mine is that easy to work with. I have tried H4831SC, but max velocity was about 2950 and accuracy was only so-so.
I'll try to do an update on it this spring, but I have 3 rifles to work up loads for, and work is keeping me pretty busy.
Good luck with your project, It will be a blast...
wink.gif

1386084.jpg

[ 01-16-2003: Message edited by: Chris Jamison ]

riflecountry--