338 Rem. Ultra

waha

Im new to ths forum business and I was seeking out any 338 ULtra owners that can help me out. I own a 338 W.M. and have been handloading it for over 11 years shooting the 225's to 2,950 and the 250's to 2,800 with a 24 inch 700 SS. How much velocity gain will I pick up if I buy a 338 Ultra with a 26 inch pipe and load it "warm" also?

Expect about a full 200fps gain when using same weight bullets, maybe a bit more. I dont own one, (I shot a 300 RUM) but I know that 3000fps with a 250g is quite easily attainable.

Thanks for the reply, I'm just trying to rationalize a new gun. I have two 300 Ultra's and I'm getting only 200 FPS gain over my hot 300 WM loads. Its fun to experiment. If I pick up a 338 Ultra I'll have to brake it because my 338 kicks plenty with the hot 250's. May get a custom job built on one of the big 338's to really make a difference but need to keep the weight below 16 for Idaho.

waha-steve,

First welcome to the board. Glad to see another ID fella on board.

Short answer: You won't gain squat when all things are considered.

Long answer /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif

I just switched barrels on a REM 700 from a 24" 338 Win to a 26" 338 RUM Rem takeoff barrel- new unfired. I'm trying to get this configuration shooting consistently for an other project.

First the 338 Win: I shot nothing but Sierra 250 Game Kings and 252gr RBBT Wildcats as they shot the best. Velocities were limited, by me, to 2800 FPS MV as that was where they shot the best (1/4 MOA on a regular bases for 3 shots). The RBBTs were a little more 'regular' than the Sierras. Also case life was about 10 loads. Any higher velocities and the case life dropped off pretty fast.

The 338 RUM: I, just for fun, ran the Tubbs Final Finish process. Turned out it was a very good idea. Thats one process you can take to the bank.