.338 lapua improved 40degree

300spanker

I have decided to have a .338 lapua improved put together. I was wondering if i have a 29 inch barrel, how much velocity would i see with the 300gn. smk
thanks,gun)

I thought I answered this for you on another thread. You are going to top out with best accuracy between 2850 and 2950 fps. Just depends on your barrel. In other words you should be able to get near 2950 fps out of it but your best accuracy may be under 2900 fps.

would i do any better with a 338-378 improved, i am looking for 3200fps without going to snipetac or allen mag. thanks for ur patience i am new to this long range world, gun)

You won't get those velocities using the 338 Excalibur/338-416 Rigby Imp/338-378 Wby Imp/338 Kahn, unless you use extremely long 38"+ barrels, and don't want to shoot your cases more than a few times:)

Here's a good post Kirby made regarding 338 velocities.
http://www.longrangehunting.com/for...ber-build-advice-33343/index9.html#post252002

LTLR has owned them all...he'd be a good reference to query.

Let me suggest the following, since you stated you were "new" to the long range world....In order to obtain the best feedback possible from the forum on your rifle build, start a new thread called "Help me with my new long range build".

Define your build goals in the post by using the following points:

1. Your shooting experience?
2. Current reloading experience?
3. Budget?
4. Intended target-Paper/steel or fur or both. If fur list the critters (moose, bear, elk, caribou, deer, sheep, varmints, etc)?
5. Intended distance for the above target?
6. Desired weight (backpacker, horse, atv or truck hunter)?
7. Acceptable barrel life in # rounds before you should expect to re-barrel?
8. Prefer a SAAMI cartridge with off the shelf dies or a Wildcat with custom dies?
9. Do you prefer a Repeater or Single Shot?
10. Do you prefer a custom action or do you have a factory action you want to build from?