.338 Berger 250 Elite Hunter

Timber338

All - I've been using the search function to dig up info for how well the .338 Berger 250 grain Elite Hunter has been working in the field. I wanted to start a thread to try and get a single source for info on this bullet and how well it has been working on animals. There is no doubt that these bullets are very accurate with a very impressive b.c.

The goal is to use this bullet in my 338 RUM for elk... comparing to any other bullet in the 225 to 250 grain weight range, it dominates for high retained energy/velocity and low wind drift on long shots. But a few of the reviews I've found report less than ideal terminal performance.

Anybody out there with field reports using this bullet?

I have been running the 250' s for about two years now. Lack of time off has seen few hunting days but I have harvested one mule deer, a black bear and a wolf with those bullets. On the mule deer and black bear the bullets performed better than I hoped, exiting with about a 1-1/4" hole, both shots between 100-200 yards. the wolf was... well.... a little thinner skinned.
I have shot them at long range, but not at game. they shot very well out to 1100 yards. Its tricky to get them to shoot if your using a long throated rifle, because they are very short and tough to get to the lands. 7828ssc was the best for me.
good luck!

Rifle is a .338 RUM XCR

I have been running the 250' s for about two years now. Lack of time off has seen few hunting days but I have harvested one mule deer, a black bear and a wolf with those bullets. On the mule deer and black bear the bullets performed better than I hoped, exiting with about a 1-1/4" hole, both shots between 100-200 yards. the wolf was... well.... a little thinner skinned.