338-378 & Powders

David Long

Hey guys, I'm new to this. Am shooting a 338-378 with a 40" barrel, 1 in 8 twist. Using 300gr SMK (when I can get them). Wondering if anyone has any experience with Vihtavouri powder in this calibre & what results.

Last edited:
Hey guys, I'm new to this. Am shooting a 338-378 with a 40" barrel, 1 in 8 twist. Using 300gr SMK (when I can get them). Wondering if anyone has any experience with Vihtavouri powder in this calibre & what results.

Why the 1/8 twist? Only need 1/10 for a 300SMK. Ever thought about trying H50BMG powder?

We used to use 1 in 10 with 30 Cal, but ended up chasing every deer we shot. Were using SMK 200 gr, & seemingly punching holes through them. Went to 1 in 8 & it made the 30 Cal into a deadly instant killer. Same happened with 338 Cal. Have been using H50BMG with this gun, but am finding burn rate changes with from one loading to another in same lot#. Having same problem with H1000 in a couple other guns. Hodgdon don't want to hear it. That's why asking about another powder. When I said I was new at this, I meant with the forum. Have been long range hunting 35 years. Have kills out to 1650yds. Several one shot to 1400yds. I thank you for the feedback.

Dave

PS: Marine myself from '58 thru '61

Last edited:
If H50BMG is your powder for accuracy and velocity, why not buy the 8lb jugs and verify burn rate from jug to jug?
I shoot the .338-.408, and the .375-408 all year long, hundreds of rounds through each. Every time I move into a new jug of powder, I simply verify the burn rate. If it's off a bit, I adjust the load.
I do this whether it's Hodgdon powder or Vihtavouri.

David,