31.5” draw length bow?

I'm really new to the bow world, so bear with me...
What is considered long for axle to axle?
Top five manufacturers? 1)Mathews, 2)Hoyt 3)?.....
PSE, Bowtech, Bear, should others be considered?
Is actual matched draw length (bow and me) a necessity, or are there other good ways to "make do" ie extended release / or/ and?...

I like Mathews and Hoyt. If I were you, I would go to a good pro shop and let them 'fit' you with a bow that YOU like. Also, don't compromise with fit to save a few extra bucks on a bow since you will regret it later. Just my opinion based on years of experience and money wasted.

Mr. Richard advise is real sound. Going to a good pro shop and getting a good idea of what fits you would be very valuable information. And don't compromise on fit you will be sorry later. Some times you can find a good used bow if you are trying to save some coin. But have an idea of what would be needed to change draw length, cost etc. Might even have to put new cable on it. But when you find something that fits and feels good stay after it or you will just be in the market for a new bow next year. Don't ask me how I know or better yet please don't ask my wife

This was my thinking as well. I get tempted by finding the best deals, but also know that if it don't work, I'm just throwing money out the door. I'll swing by the local pro shop and try out a few. Thanks fellas.

Bowtech makes several bows that will adjust out to 32". I am a bow hunting addict, and have yet to find a bow to replace my 2010 Bowtech destroyer 340. I have a 31" draw and feel your pain in finding bows. This is why I dont buy Mathews bows anymore. They are designed for the average shooter. They have draw lengths that will go to 31+ but they are designed for shorter draw lengths. Shoot BT and Mathews side by side to feel what I mean. i'll probably get flogged by the Mathews ( creedmore) guys for this post, but most of those guys don't have a 81" wingspan either.