308 Win - 168 gr (A Max, SMK and ELD-M)

BoomFlop

My Remington LTR in 223 shoots so good, I decided to buy the exact rifle in 308 Win. I have zero experience with a 308 Win. I am looking for an accurate bullet for target shooting as well as whitetails inside of 300 yards, with most being 30-125 yards.

What are your thoughts on these 3 bullets as far as accuracy and performance on WI deer at 308 Win velocities? Or if there is a better option(s)?

Thanks all,
Steve

Try the Speer 165 gr btsp. Not a designer bullet but if found them too be very accurate and preform well on deer at 308 velocities. I'm about too give up on hornady, price goes up, quality goes down.

168 berger vld hunting over 42 grains of varget in 118lr brass #34 primer I shot a sub inch 480yd group dead on the cross of the plate. 2850fps in my rifle less than 1" of vertical@ 700. This is as far as I have shot on paper. I can hit a 12"plate @ 1100 over 80% on my own and even higher with a good spotter calling my wind.
The 178 eldm and the 175tmk not the smk will both kill very well. Lapua brass 41.6 varget 210m 2780+ (I don't have my book handy) Both have single digit es and both have about a bullet's width for vertical @ 500yds. Little better than the berger in the wind but with a good wind call the berger is more accurate. I shoot at the expert level not at high master level nowadays when I compete.
I have a tight bore .298 vs .300 This creates much higher pressures than the book suggests for this powder charge.

The 168 and 175 sierra match kings have been the mainstay of the 308 win mag for alot of years