.308 Nosler 175gr. RDF

Unlucky lefty

Howdy all. I'm pretty new to the world of long rang shooting. I've been reloading for about 8 years now but was usually just shooting out 100yd. Recently i picked up a Remington 700 LH heavy barreled .308 win. with the HS precision stock. Its got a 26in. barrel with a 1 in 12 twist. I've been trying to load the Nosler 175gr. RDFs in it. I've been having major issues though trying to get the bullets to seat to the same depth. For some reason get about .005" + or - variance in my Ogive between any 5 loads. I started with just a cheap Lee die (which just fine with the Hornady 168gr. BTHP and the Speer 125gr. TNTs that i loaded for another rifle.) I then borrowed a RCBS seating die from a buddy and was still having the same issues. Finally figured out that the bullets where hitting the top of the seater plug. So afer doing some research I finally decided to upgrade and bought a Redding seater die and the VLD bullet seating micrometer thinking that all my issues would be resolved, but they are not. The bullets are no longer bottoming out in the plug but I'm still getting the variance in my Ogive. I've measured the Ogive of just the bullets and their all the same as well as the over all length of the bullet. Any help or advise that anyone give would be greatly appreciated.

I use the 140 RDF's and they're quite similar in length so I doubt the variety in is due to bullet OAL. If you're loading compressed and the powder is pushing back and you have uneven neck tension, you could be having the powder press the bullet out after seating. I had that with some longer bullets that I was trying to seat mag length but with a high powder charge.