308 155 load

trigger puller

I am new to this and would like to ask a question. I have a model 70 in 308 that i have been loading 155 SMK Palmas. This load will group under .5 MOA at 100 yards I was going to load Berger VLD's but the sierras have a better ballistic coaficient, also if i read it right it has a higher sectional density. Is this bullet alright to hunt with. I shoot out to 880 as far as i can go back. Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

trigger puller-
sooner or later someone will tell you not to hunt with the smk's so i'll save them the trouble. sierra emphatically states, the match king bullets are not recommended for hunting!!! having said that, the bullets you speak of and their respective B.C.s... pick you up a copy of bryan litz's book "applied ballistics for long range shooting" midwayusa has them for about 40$ and i think you can pick one up from this website. in this book you will find actual tested b.c. data showing that the .308 cal 155 smk palma (2155) average b.c. is actually .417 while the berger 155 vld is .439. the smk 2156 has a pointed meplat and shows a .449, however, due to the pointed tip it is doubtful that it would be able to upset, especially at longer ranges where the impact velocity is lower. if you were hunting coyotes for fur then this bullet may reduce pelt damage, but if that is your primary concern then i suspect you can come up with some other answers to that question. on the big game fields the bergers have a reputation for clean kills and outstanding accuracy, the only issue with the berger bullets is seating depth, some rifles don't shoot them well because of the amount of freebore at standard seating depth, but then that could be said of any bullet. my recommendation is before you start making any decisions about next deer season pick up that book and read it. there are a bunch of other things you need to consider before you settle on a hunting load.