.300 win mag ladder test

Joefrazell

This is my second ladder test I've ever done. I'm thinking of loading up 5 rnds of 72.5, 73 and 73.5 and see how things group. This is my first time shooting this perticular load. I was shooting 210 vlds with 76gr of h1000 and it shot about 1-1/2" groups at 100 yrds but held moa all the way to 700 which was the furthest I shot for groups. These custom competition bullets cost 1/3 of the bergers. How would you guys read this test? All info of test is on pic attached. Thanks all

Attachments

• 20170904_101108.jpg
    20170904_101108.jpg
    331.6 KB · Views: 585
I'd agree with jimbires. Might try loading 72-73.2 (or so) in .3 increments. I think you'll find your sweet spot somewhere between the 72.5-73 range

I would try a ladder with 74.5 -76.0 and see the results of that to and watch for pressure and a plateu with your velocity. Alot of times there is a lower node and a higher one. The middle of a velocity plateau can be a good node.

Yeah I didn't see any pressure signs at all. I dont have a chrono but figure I'm right around 3000 fps with the 26" at around 73 gr. Was thinking of going higher but don't know if I need any more speed then this