300 win mag advise

GrantDim

Hello guys, I was hopping someone could advise me. I have encounters a problem while trying to develop a load for my Winchester mod 70 300 win mag.

I'm pretty new to reloading but I have done a fair amount of research. I have asked a few friend for help regarding the distance my bullet needs to jump before it hits the lands but none are able to help me.

I hope someone here can help me, I'm questioning my rifle at this stage.

All measurement are in inches. The brass I am using are hornady, trimmed and measured to 2,620. I'm loading nosler balisstic tip 180gr. If I seat the bullet to just touch the lands my over all length from base of the case to the tip of the bullet is 3,530. At this length the loaded round will not fit in the magazine. To fit in the magazine the over all length will need to be 3,390. My concern is the the jump the bullet will need to make before it hits the lands is quite a big one.

So is this acceptable? If not is it possible that there is something wrong with my rifle?

Please forgive me if this is a silly question. I can't see how a long jump like that is going to give me good accuracy. Any advise will be greatly appreciated.

I'd run them at max COAL you can feed properly in your rifle. Your bullet choice isn't overly sensitive to seating depth (in my experience).

I'd start low with the reloads and work up in .5 grain increments and see how it shoots. You may have to try a couple different bullets out. I'd stay away from sensitive bullets, like Berger VLDs. Some people have jumped them with great results. They can just drive you nuts, if you rifle doesn't like them. Unless you want to single feed.

Good advice above. Load to mag length . Develop a good load. Then play with seating from there. Some rifle / powder / bullet combos like a big jump.