300 RUM upgrade to a 338 edge

losthelegend

I have read quite a few posts on this topic but have yet to find one that really tells me the steps involved and ballpark prices(does not need to be exact). I am very new to the long range game. I grew up hunting archery where closer is better and have had some missed opportunities on some nice bulls because of the distance. I am going to use the rifle in a high WY desert area and maybe some canyon to canyon shots on elk only.

I currently own a Rem 700p in a 300 RUM. It has a bushnell 300 elite but I will be replacing it with a nightforce 5.5x22x56 with a 20 MOA base with some new rings(yet to be determined). I bought the rifle from a guy that needed the cash.

Questions:

Would this rifle work as a donor rifle for this build?

Are there better rifles to use as a donor? I have access to a few rifles or I can purchase another donor rifle.

What are the advantages of converting from a 300 RUM to a 338 edge?

What break would you use(type and brand)?

What barrel? Brand, length, twist and crown?

Should I have the action trued and lugs lapped?

What stock and type?

Should I have a mercury tube installed to help with the recoil?

I live in SW Wyoming and do not have any knowledge of a reputable gunsmith to perform this build. Are there any suggestions of someone close by that I can have build this?

What about detachable magazines? Do I need to have it customized to accept longer OAL? What brand?

Any other information that you guys deem helpful would be greatly appreciated.

I know that some of these questions might be elementary for some of you and I apologize for that. I would appreciate some positive and helpful feedback or some constructive criticism. If you are going to tell me that I am a dumba@# and a noob with no experience please do not respond. I am very interested and am trying to get as much information as possible.

Thanks in advance for you responses and help.

Here is a pic of my donor--
P1000955.jpg