300 rum ultra short range

stxhunter

hi everyone this my first post ive been checking this forum out for several months i'm having a local gunsmith here in corpus build me a 300 wm and i bought a 700p in 300 rum and put a 6.6-20 lp vrx3 on it 50mm anyways i got to use the rum yesterday whent to the ranch over in duval county freer tx to bow hunt didnt get a deer but a hog came in right as it was getting to dark to see so i stuck it then walked back to my truck about 1/2 mile to get my spotlight and rum figured this would give the hog time to bleedout when i got back could'nt find the arrow but did pick up a good blood trail which i followed about 75 yards and there was the hog but he was'nt dead seems he was standing at a angle and the arrow hit a little far back in the gut and was sticking out his left ham now here was the fun part i have a rifle that weights around 13# a ****ed off hog i'm by myself and my spotlight has to have the button held down or it shuts off so i hold the rifle out one handed and stick the barrel about a ft away from its head as its staring to get up and shot dead hog but my wrist is sore today next time i'll take my smithnwission 44 anyways can't wait for rifle season to try out the rum on some deer we have a couple of senderos i can shoot out to 800-900 yards really enjoy this forum and have learned a lot here thanks