.300 RUM muzzle break???

I was told by a gunsmith this weekend that he can put a muzzle brake on a .300 RUM and make it feel like a .25-06 when you shoot it. This seems kind of hard to believe, but I am no expert. I have never shot the RUM, so I have no comprehension on how much recoil it actually has. I hear it is a real kicker. Could a muzzle brake make this much of a difference? Maybe in conjunction with a good recoil pad?

Knappy

I have the 300 RUM and the 300RUM necked to .338 with brakes on both and they have very little kick without the brakes they have considerable kick. Put a brake on it and enjoy!! If you want a pad as well, the limb saver is a good choice!

I don't know if this helps or not, but I can tell you that I have an Ops Inc on my 300 WM and it kicks about the same as my .308, maybe slightly less. I love it.

********! I shot a braked 30-404 (basically a RUM) with 210's in a 16.5LB bench gun.

kicked like a freakin mule compared to my 8lb 25-06 with 115 b-tips at 3000fps.

Dont believe everything you hear /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/wink.gif

JB

Not all brakes are created equal. Some work better than others, especially when noise is concerned. The Vias and Gentry are two of the quitier one. On a 300 WSM, a Vais brought recoil down to a 308 in a 8.5# rifle.

I shoot a 300 Jarrett with Kenny's brake, a 300 RUM with a Vais and a 338-416 Rigby with a Vias. The 338 is loaded with 119 grains of H-870 behind a 230 grain slug. None of these rifles are light weight (they will all weigh in the neighborhood of 10lbs or more), and yet none of these rifles kick as hard as a 308 Ruger that my son has. The Ruger has the "skeletonize" stock and doesn't fit anyone but a child - yet IMO the 308 manages to kick like a Missouri mule.