.300 H&H Mag vs. .300 Win Mag in a magnum action

CMP70306

Hello Everyone,

I was looking into getting a custom rifle made that would replicate the old pre-64 Bull Gun however I am unsure of which cartridge to go with. On one hand I like the nostalgia of the H&H but at the same time I already reload for the Win Mag so I decided to base my choice on long range performance using the berger 215 hybrids and both the berger 230s.

In my searches online I have seen that when hand loaded with heavy bullets the .300 H&H can hang with the win mag and possibly be a bit faster due to less of the case being taken up. However since the rifle will be built on a magnum action even if it is a .300 Win Mag I began to wonder how the win mag would stack up if it was loaded to a COAL of 3.6? Since I have very little experience shooting the win mag loaded long and none with the H&H I decided to come here and request information from you guys, any and all information is appreciated and thank you in advance.

The Win mag is much easier to work with for OAL and much easier to find brass. Brass can be a real pain to find for the H&H.

Hello Everyone,

I was looking into getting a custom rifle made that would replicate the old pre-64 Bull Gun however I am unsure of which cartridge to go with. On one hand I like the nostalgia of the H&H but at the same time I already reload for the Win Mag so I decided to base my choice on long range performance using the berger 215 hybrids and both the berger 230s.