300 H&H Bullet weight selection?

trumdal

Recently my father and I were to a range to shoot. Me with my .308 FN Pbr and he with his 300 H&H. We had fun the likes that we havent seen together in years. Problem is now hes hooked. I have been shooting long range for a few years but mostly for fun not for competition (a side from the "hey bet ya a beer back at town I can hit that rock" bet). I run the FN with 168 gr A-max over 47 Grains Varget producing 2988 fps +/_ 8 fps. I am fairly happy with my load and my rifle spits sub moa groups with it. Question is towards the 300 H&H with the larger case capacity would it not be beneficial for him to send a larger bullet with a better B.C.? I looked into Hornadays line up being that it is what I shoot and found a sexy looking 208 Gr. A-max with a B.C. through the roof. Can someone shed a little light on this subject? Would you guys shoot a lighter bullet faster to keep flight time down, or go larger to buck wind better?

Yours truley: Helping the old man.

Well... I like the 208's and I shoot a 300WSM. I am currently shooting at 2903fps shooting sub MOA (.5's) with this bullet. I have some kills at 605, 630, and 650 yards on ground hogs. They weren't explosive (too light skinned I'm guessing for that bullet), but did the job. Those are perfect for long range game. Right now my drops are showing 920yrds max for Elk size game and 1240yrds for Whitetail size game. That is at an elevation of just under 1100ft. That tells me that 1000yrds is very possible for elk at altitude. The construction of the bullet would allow you take game effectively at long range. Other options are the JLK and Berger 210. My current BC with my rifle is .330 G7.