.30 cal brake for .284...?

WahooYahoo

I really like to shoot, but I can't lay behind my 7RM all day, it just hurts. My form suffers when I hurt. So, the next logical thing to do is reduce recoil and although I dislike the report from the break, its the lesser of the evils. There aren't many choices available for a 9/16 .284 break. I've heard that a .30 break "works" for .284. Am I right?

Last edited:
I really like to shoot, but I can't lay behind my 7RM all day, it just hurts. My form suffers when I hurt. So, the next logical thing to do is reduce recoil and although I dislike the report from the break, its the lesser of the evils. Their aren't many choices available for a 9/16 .284 break. I've heard that a .30 break "works" for .284. Am I right?

Yes! I have a blast tamer MB that is designed for 7MM-300WM.

I'm no engineer, so take this for what it is: an opinion based on conversations I've had, no real experience yet.

I'm sure there are some efficiencies lost in going with a larger than caliber brake, but I believe it's done all the time and is still quite effective, especially when the step up from caliber to brake size is minimal such as going from .284 bullet to a .308 brake. I just ordered a TBAC Ultra 338 that will use their brake, and I picked up a couple of extras for other rifles- all the brakes are the same size, but one will go on a .338 Lapua and the other two will go on a pair of .300 win mags. The folks at TBAC indicated I'd be fine (at least that's how I interpreted the conversation).

You shouldn't have any loss of effectiveness as long as you are using a quality brake to begin with. On my last 6.5 build I used a Terminator t3 brake set up for a .338 and had no issues. I asked my smith about it before the build and he said there would probably not be any noticeable difference. So you should be good to go especially since you're just one step up in caliber.