30 06 For Long Range Hunting, Or Not

clayshooter

I am a hunter and I read with great interest the information posted here on long range hunting. I shoot a 30-06 and I have limited experience out too 500 yards. I would like to hear from experienced shooters about the capability of the 30-06 to even greater distances and recommended rifle scope for such shooting. Thanks in advance.

I think your biggest problem is going to be adjusting for windage. On a calm day, using 180 accubonds, you should have enough energy to kill deer with well placed shots to about 800 yds: however, with a bullet starting as slow as it will out of the 30-06, you need to REALLY be able to read wind and correct for it. My brother got a nice muley this past year at 425 yds with about a 15mph crosswind -- the calculated drift for him was right at 15 inches. Get a scope that has accurate target turrets.

I have been shooting a pre 64 model 70 30-06 sense 1963 and for a go to rifle it can't be beat. With that being said there are much better choices out there for the sport of long range hunting. The scope on my rifle is a Luepold 3.5-10 Var X III and works well for what I use it for but at 500 yards you need about a 45 inch holdover and with a little wind it gets really complicated really fast.

The 06 is plenty capable of taking elk out to 450 yards and mule deer to around 600 depending on the load you use but you really need a scope such as a Nightforce or US Optics with adjustable turrets to be efficient at those ranges. As 184stak said even with a good scope it's the wind that will get you. The 06 would be a great round to start with just invest in a really good scope and learn to read the wind. Good luck.

well why dont you load some 175 grs hpbt bullets from sierra or verger if they work in a 308 win they should work in a 30-06 and gain a little more velocity and there is much more bullets that works well in a .30 caliber just develop many loads to see what works in your rifle