.30-06 110gr factory loads - Thoughts?

blue9

What do you guys think about running this light of a factory load through an A-Bolt .30-06? I'm a rookie here, so go easy on me. Looks like Federal Premium boxes a 110gr Barnes Tipped TSX. Federal's ballistics look ridiculous on paper; basically turns the .30-06 into a meaner, flatter, harder punching 243/25/260, Almost seems too good to be true; depending on ammo, that one gun becomes two. I'm missing something, right? Yeah, yeah, I know I should get a 243/25/260 if that's what I want to shoot, but humor me for a few minutes.

If you get good accuracy with them in your rifle, then it might be a decent varmint load out to some given range. You'll just have to develop a drop chart and windage to determine the sweet spot.

If they aren't accurate in your rifle, then it's all moot.

-- richard

What do you want to do with your 06? I've loaded the 110 grain V Max's in my 300 WSM for rabbits and prairie dogs and it just mists them. I've wanted to try them on coyotes too but I've just decided to shoot my hunting loads at everything to get real world practice. My cousin is running the 165 grain Hornady Superformance load out of his 06 and loves it.

I personally feel the 150-165 grain bullets are the best bullets for an 06 but it's cause I've seen a lot of guns shoot them very well and they seem to kill everything they're pointed at.

thanks guys. Was running the Hornady 150gr LM a few yrs back and now the 150 Super Performance SST thru the A-Bolt .30-06; it loves both of these factory loads.