264 Win Mag Loads

Send One

I recently had my gunsmith put together a 264 win mag and I am starting to work up some loads. I know a lot of people are shooting Retumbo, which I have no experience with. However, I have several pounds worth of RL-25 and wonder if anyone had any pet loads with this powder and a 140 Berger that I might try?

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

First off, welcome to the site! Try 60grs of RL-25 with the 140s. This load is listed on Alliant's site.

Thanks Jud for the info and especially the welcome to the site. Very much appreciated! I have worked up a few loads with RL-22 and 130 Bergers that shot +/- 5/8" at 100 yds., which I felt like was pretty good considering I am breaking in a barrel and fire forming brass. Given the rifle has an 1:8 twist, I hope tthe 140's will improve my groups and really shine on out there.

Thanks again!

Thanks Jud for the info and especially the welcome to the site. Very much appreciated! I have worked up a few loads with RL-22 and 130 Bergers that shot +/- 5/8" at 100 yds., which I felt like was pretty good considering I am breaking in a barrel and fire forming brass. Given the rifle has an 1:8 twist, I hope tthe 140's will improve my groups and really shine on out there.

Thanks again!

No problem! Great to see new members. Your rifle should definitely drop down to 1/2in or better groups once your barrel is ready to go and especially after your brass is formed. Those 140s may fly better also! Good luck!

I tried Retumbo first with 130 Accubonds and did not have to look further. 3350 fps and very good accuracy from my 27 3/4" barrel. SMOKES DEER. :D

Thanks all, I appreciate the feedback. I have a few test loads worked up with RL-25 and 22, so we will see how it goes. I plan to grab a pound of Retumbo to give it a whirl, given a lot people claiming success. I have shot 7828 in my 7 mag in the past with good results and happen to have a couple pounds laying around, so I will give that a shot as well.