260 ai powder

Trooper21986

Ok, I have a 260 AI . It started life with a 26" barrel. Recently I cut it to 21" , don't ask ! It's a Rock Creek barrel , and the original load went from 2950 to 2400 , Hunter powder . I have to assume I just don't have enough barrel for the powder I'm shooting. Any thoughts or recommendation for powder ?

550 fps from 5" of barrel? I would be looking at the possibility of other issues as well, something isn't right.

I would try Reloder 26, H4831sc, and Reloder 16. VV N565 may work as well, it is similar burn rate to rl26 but more temp stable from reports, however I have no personal experience with it. Reloder 17 is not very temp stable. You could also try H4350, similar burn rate to RL16 but not quite as good of velocities from my experience.

I don't want to be the bearer of bad news but you probably won't be able to get the benefits of the improved case because of the short barrel. But I could be very wrong. You might try and use something that's along the lines of varget, or similar burn rate. I don't know if a case full of reloder 26 will burn in that short of a barrel.

Dmagna , I would be happy to get 260 velocities accurately at this point ! 2400 just to slow

26reload codyadams , I was thinking 16/17 or even 15 for the shorter barrel! Was hoping to find someone who might have tried a shorter barrel .... Found one waiting for a reply !
I do appreciate the input !

Maybe look at some faster powders. I run H4895 in my short barrel 260 and also in a short barrel magnum

The ruger is a 16" compact....with rl17 shot excellent.....dont remember all the specifics....it is the ex's rifle...
260 rem...ruger compact mkii....