25-06 or 260 or.....

plinker31

I'm wanting to build a lightweight whitetail rifle. 22" barrel or less. I don't reload and have no idea what caliber I want. Need help on a light recoil rig and don't have a full understanding of the different powders and what would get a complete burn in a short barrel.

Concerns are: light recoil, flat trajectory, and I want to be able to shoot up to 500 yds - all in 7 lbs or less.

Tikka T3 in 25-06.. Comes with 22" barrel and very accurate and light. The gun will shoot great and easily will reach your yardage goals

Thanks I am probably going to have something built I just don't know what caliber. I hade a 308 built on a 700 action i am trying to sell to fund the new project if it doesn't sell I could rebuild on that action but still not sure what caliber. The more I read the more confused I get. I am very new to custom guns and long range shooting I made uneducated decisions on my first build and wound up with a great shooting gun that was nothing like what I wanted and now have a bad tast in my mouth

What are your complaints with the 308? I would think that would suit your criteria stated, besides the fact its not a 25-06 or a 260. If you dont sell it there are some great cartridges you could use off that action.

The 308 shoots great a lot better than I can. It was my fault t never got anything in writing when we started the build. I wanted a light weight short barreled hunting rifle I ended up with a short heavy tactical rifle. It is a blueprinted Remington sps barreled action with hs stock Jewell trigger Harris bipod acushot monopod and a Ziess 4.5-14 x 50 if anyone is interested cash or trade. Back to the point it is a great gun just not what I wanted and if I start over I want a smaller and flatter shooting caliber.