243 winchester / 105 amax load

CHARLIEDUECE65

I am working on a load for this on a Remington 700 w/26" krieger 8 twist barrel. I started using Hornady 105 Amax's using H4350 w/cci br2 primers but could not get the velocity I wanted. I was up to 40.5 grains of this powder but accuracy was better at 39.5 grains. I later worked with R17 w/wolf primers. I loaded up to 41.5 grains and am currently getting 2967 fps on my CED M2 chronograph. Accuarcy is pretty good with this load. Im not sure how much further I should push this load. I have no pressure signs yet. I measeure the OAL by the Ogive. In the rifle the OAL is 2.389 on the ogive to the lands. I loaded the rounds to 2.301 on the ogive. Should I change this length, Im still new to this reloading and if Im not doing it right, let me know, Thanks. gun)

If you're jumping them .088" then yes i'd run them out further. Try .020" jump or around that. And if you aren't to pressure yet then go on and find where you hit pressure signs. That velocity isn't bad really, Amax's, h4350 and br2's are a good combo tho for sure!

Thanks for the reply, I changed the OAL and started working up the powder some more. I went to 42.o grs up to 42.3 grs. Im getting really good accuracy with no signs of pressure yet. I think I may stay where I'm at. I will chrono the loads tomorrow or in the next couple of days. I betting there over 3000 fps now.

I have had really good luck with the .243's and the .243AI's with Ramshot Magnum and Retumbo. Try 49 Grains of Retumbo and 50 grains of Ramshot Magnum. Both seem to shoot very well and velocities are pretty darn good

You might try VV N560, Accurate MAGPRO, RL22, and IMR7828SSC.

I've had good loads for the 95g NBT using IMR7828SSC.

IMO: 4350 is a little too fast a powder for that bullet weight in a .243 to optimize velocity.

Fitch

You might try VV N560, Accurate MAGPRO, RL22, and IMR7828SSC.

I've had good loads for the 95g NBT using IMR7828SSC.