224 Valkyrie Failure to Fire - Reloaded Ammo

Discussion in 'AR15/10 Rifles' started by cowboyarcher, Aug 26, 2018.

  1. cowboyarcher

    cowboyarcher Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    575
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Hi All,

    I took my 224 Valkyrie (PSA upper) out today with some ammo I loaded (77gr SMKs at mag length over CFE223 in new brass) and was surprised that many would not fire. The hammer would fall, but there were no marks from the firing pin on the primers at all. If I loaded a round from the mag using the bolt release, or they were auto-loaded by the recoil impulse, they would usually fire, but if I cycled the action by hand they would not. What gives here? All I can find is info on light strikes, but I cannot find anything about a no strike.

    Thanks for any tips and insight!
     
  2. cowboyarcher

    cowboyarcher Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    575
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    I should add that the cases that would not fire were difficult to extract with the charging handle and that factory ammo functions fine in the ammo.
     
  3. Hatrick

    Hatrick Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    409
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2016
    Did you size the brass before loading?
     
  4. cowboyarcher

    cowboyarcher Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    575
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    I did run the cases through a Redding FL sizing die, but there was not much resistance. I am thinking this might be the issue though, that the cases are just a tad over sized and not allowing for proper chambering.
     
  5. Hatrick

    Hatrick Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    409
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2016
    The only other thing I can think of is a carbon ring at the neck in the chamber, but you said the factory ammo cycled well. Unless the factory brass was a tad shorter.
     
  6. MudRunner2005

    MudRunner2005 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    12,522
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    He could have an out of spec chamber that was cut with a bad reamer, and now his cases are too big to fit... This would also explain why new brass works great, but resized brass doesn't...Or he has a bad set of dies, or his dies aren't setup properly. I'd have the chamber inspected, and possibly casted to find out for sure.
     
    Hatrick likes this.
  7. Deviant

    Deviant Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    96
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2018
    https://www.brownells.com/reloading...dspace-tools/match-case-gauges-prod41313.aspx.

    I used to have the same problem loading for my AR with a JP Barrel. It had a pretty tight chamber and I found out that I did not have my dies adjusted correctly. Now I use the JP chamber gauge listed in the link above and check every single piece of ammo with it after I load them. I use it to set my dies and I have not had a problem since.

    Al