.223 WSSM or WSSM IMPROVED

tbrown9124

I was just wondering if or how many out there have experience with this cartridge or wildcatting it, it just seems to be the best of the wssm's in terms of potential. just fishing for thoughts on this round good and bad

I'm no expert here but this is what it looks like to me.
It looks like Winchester just took the same case as the WSM
line, cut the front off and necked it down to form the WSSM
line. But this leaves you with a very thick neck on these cases.
All other 224 cartridges have an outside diameter on the neck
less than 0.260. The 223 WSSM is 0.272. The really accurate
rounds like 22 PPC and 22 BR have outside necks at 0.246.
That's a huge difference. Very thick brass in the neck area.

I don't hear anything good about these rounds. If I wanted
a really hot 224, I'd look elsewhere.

I have never shot it or loaded for it, but I am balistically familiar with it. The 223 WsSM has minimum body tapor and (I was going to say 35 degree shoulder, but it its actually 28 degree). It is at the upper limits of practical case capacity for the 22 IMHO, so I wouldn't improve it unless ya just want to say you have one. There are hotrod 22 out there, but when you push so much powder down the tube, you are going to see some very limited barel life. I don't claim to be an expert, but that is my opinion - maybe ya weren't looking for that .... oh well :)