.223 vs 5.56 Chambers - HUGE bullet jump?

bookworm

5.56mm NATO versus .223 Remington Chamber Differences - Page 1 - AR15.COM

From this link above...if my math is correct, the freebore (distance bullet travels before engaging lands) difference between .223 and 5.56mm is 0.152" (0.040 + 0.045 versus 0.073 + 0.164) Is my math correct? When I look for other information online I get most people stating a MUCH smaller difference in freebore between these two chamberings.

I have a bushmaster in 223/5.56 chambering and am finding a huge bullet jump when I load my COL to 2.25". My bullet jump is around 0.174" and that seems HUGE to me...so I'm trying to figure out if that is normal or not.

This rifle has never shot very well with factory ammo and I'm trying to work up some loads that might improve accuracy. This is the first possible "strange" thing I've come across that might be a clue to my poor accuracy.

I know that this question is not a "long range" question per se, but I'm trying to turn my AR into a decent varmint rifle...so I'm hoping one of you experts out there might be able to help.

Thanks for any insight on this.

Bookworm,

To begin with, what ammo have you shot in this rifle, and what kinds of groups have you seen? If you've been using the standard M193 55 grain FMJ stuff, three MOA is not at all uncommon for that. Not accurate by most of our standards, but perfectly adequate for what the rifle/ammo was intended for. If you want to use better ammo in there, I'm sure the rifle will deliver far (FAR) better groups than this with little difficulty.