22-243 Experience???

OKbow87

Well guys I am thinking about doing a 22-243 standard shoulder angle. I used the search and found plenty about the inmproved shoulder styles but not too much on the standard. I was just wondering if anybody had any experience with the standard and had any info to share. Thanks in advance guys.

Colin

I've been shooting a slow twist for about ten years,I keep it slowed down to about 4000 fps with a moly 52 gr. mk.Alot of guys around here are going with fast twist and having good luck with the heavier bullets.

I'd look up Jerry Newman out of Elk City or Mike Luckett out of Lavern (I think /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/confused.gif). Those guys are building a ton of them and there alot of western OK boys that are shooting them.

Hi why not get a 22-250AI you will get similar balistics with dies easier to obtain and the 40 degree shoulder is much better than the 20 degree shoulder on the 243 case. You will have to trim and probably neck turn with the 22-243 and you wont have to do that with the 22-250AI the other thing is you can fire factory 22-250 ammo in the AI chamber and their is no factory ammo you could use in the 22-243 chamber if you get stuck because your ammo is missing.

Cheers Bill
Australia

B.B. - The guy who is gonna build it is a close friend of one of my work associates. His name is Jim Paul and he is in the Sayer/Elk City area. He is pretty good friends with Mike Luckett. I have shot a few of his rifles, two 22-243's, and a 7mm rem mag and I deff have confidence with him. Im gonna start with a 700 vsf in .308 since I can get it for less than I can buy just an action and the stock, and I wont have to wait the 20-22 weeks for an hs varmit stock(what they quoted me yesterday). We are gonna put a hart 26" 8 twist on it.