204 vs 17FB

Greywolf18

I was looking into getting a med range varmint rifle. I already have a 17HMR, 22LR for short and then a .223 for longer range. I was looking into a good bolt action for 300-400 range. I've pretty much narrowed it down to either the .204 or the new 17 Rem Fireball. I was just wondering if anyone had done a test on a side by side comparison between the two? Has anyone shot both? If so, which do you prefer? I know both are low recoiling, but I want to see impact on my varmint rigs so can you do that with both these rifles? I'm just getting started reloading so I prolly wouldn't reload them for awhile so I'd be using factory ammo to start out with. The main prey would be prairie dogs.

Check out 6mmbr.com. They have some pretty good articles on the two above mentioned calibers. I enjoy there site for some pretty solid information.

Respectfully,
jk

I have shot both and I own a 17 fireball. I chronied some 20 gr Rem factory at 4016 fps. I just reloaded some more rounds last night, some 20 gr V-maxs for small varmit and some 25 gr Bergers for yotes. I have poped many P dogs with the 20 v-maxes and you will like what you see through your scope. My rifle is just a used cheap factory 700 varmit with the 26" heavy barrel. On a calm day 300 yard P dogs are easy. I really like this rifle and it has zero recoil.

Jeff

****, the rifle looks sweet, but unfortunately way out of my price range. I'm just looking around right now and am looking prolly at the Remmy 700 varmint or the Savage. I'm trying to save up for a custom rifle turning my old beat up 30-06 into a 6.5x284:D Just starting to look now so if BO signs the order I'll have the info and made up my mind and rush out to order it before the law comes into effect lol