204 rifle?

sniperboy

Hi to all

I ve been reading so much about the 204 calibre and here in australia its still a relative new calibre for us. Can anyone suggest me of a real accurate out of the box rifle in the 204 calibre, and with what rate of twist they are available.
Would also like to know if the 204 is capable of varmints up to 400 yards?

Thanks
sniperboy

I would suggest the CZ 527 Varmint rifle (I've owned a couple 204s to include Encore and Ruger Varmint). The CZ is by far the most accurate of the ones I've had and the one I plan to hang onto for a good long while. It is around 7 1/2 pounds with a medium-heavy barrel so the weight is not to bad for carrying and calling, but balances nicely compared to the heavier barreled/stocked varminters. The savage rifles I hear are very accurate also, but I have no experience with them as I have found the CZ to do everything I need. I also have an extra magazine for me to carry in my coat pocket. It consistently shoots the 32 V-max in the .3s sometimes a little better even, if I'm up to it. Mine hates the 40 v-max but shoots the 35 berger and 40 ballistic tips fairly well with loads I've tried (half inch or a little better). Lots of guys are having good luck with this rifle and the sierra blitzkings but the jackets are very light and not so good for coyotes, creating a lot of splash wounds from what I'm hearing. The rate of twist in the CZ is 1:12, which seems to be the most popular twist across the board. The 204 is very capable of taking prairie dogs and groundhogs at 400 and beyond and will get r dun on coyotes with a well placed shot. If you get a 204 I don't think you will be disappointed one bit. It is low recoiling and really tears up varmints nicely. You will soon get use to hearing bang...WHOP! and the nice thing is you will see your impacts. It's an awesome caliber! On windy days, I switch over to the 243 for 300 yard and longer shots. It's good to have a heavier caliber in your arsenal for shooting way o