200 yards with open sights!

Tyler Kemp

Well, I got this rifle from my grandpa after it sat in a damp basement closet for 20+ years. It looked like:
SingleShotMarlinAction.jpg

SingleShotMarlinBarrel.jpg

I just did a quick refinish and sprayed on some ceramic coating paint stuff, it looks good enough, but the wood turned out real red, I've since added tru-oil to give it some shine:
Cleanedupsingleshot.jpg

I was bored, so today I put some nails to hold a 4"x4" metal plate up on a long board. I stuck it in the ground at 200 yards (lasered), but I couldn't see the plate, so I made a big white square on the board. After about 10 shots I knew where to hold and repainted the plate.

I was shooting prone at first, but couldn't get how I wanted, so I started shooting off of my Bushnell 1500's case. Shooting went really well, except the plate fell every time I hit it, making me get up and walk 200 yards to set it up, hence the 4 shot group instead of 5.:mad:

It looks like it is just under 2 inches:eek: , I was really impressed since my open sight abilities aren't that great and I was shooting off a rangefinder case as a front rest, nothing for a back one. Sometime I'll shoot at the same range off a real bench with a good rest and a scope. It has the elevator type sights, which I had all the way up and holding about 2 feet over the big white square, almost the top of the board.

Marlin200yardopensight2.jpg

EDIT-I am using Wolf MT, does good in most of my guns.

Last edited:
Got me beat. I really admire those guys that shoot slings and irons at 1K. I couldnt hit an elephant without a scope at 200 yards:).