1st post and thinking new LR hunting rig.

Thanks Tim!

Yup, prayer is always a good thing!

Your 2-gun battery sounds like a nice idea too. I wonder if the .338 Norma would *need* a little more barrel length? Otherwise, i too am a big fan of consistency.

If i were to propose a battery, i think i'd go something like this:

.22-250
.300 RUM
.375 Ruger OR a *strong* lever action .45-70 with some wicked hot loads!

frank

Welcome Frank,

We have a couple of things in common, like serving under Pres Reagan and taking a break from hunting and shooting, and I am new to the LR game myself but have learned a whole lot in the last year and a half that I've been hanging around this site. First thing I would recommend is dont make any quick decisions. You may learn a few things over a few months that may affect your decision making.

On which 300 rifle you want, I think that depends on what you want to do with it. The 300 WSM and WM are very close, and I'll have to take a little exception with my friend Tank. I developed a load in my 24"300 WSM with RL17 that will out run most 26" WM loads. In most cases the WM does have a slight edge on the WSM. But with RL17 I can get 2900 fps with a 210 Berger and 3160 with 180 E-Tips. One of the big advantages of the WSM is you can expect maybe double or more the barrel life. And I have this irrational dislike of useless belts on brass. Call me crazy.

On the RUM, I just got a used Sendero and am in the process of barrel break-in and load development. I am treating it with a product call Gun Juice which is supposed to lay down a lubricating protective layer that resists corrosion, increases barrel life and increases velocity. I *appears* to have increased velocity a little in my 25-06 Sendero and I am getting very good velocities with several powder/bullet combos in my RUM. I'll be posting a thread on my initial results and findings, probably in a couple of weeks.