180gr 300WSM loads? favorites?

I'm new to long range hunting and reloading. I am looking for a good .300 WSM load for Elk. I am thinking of trying the Nosler Accubond or Hornady SST in 180 gr. I have a Browing A-Bolt Medallion with a 23" barrel and 1 in 10" twist. I was wondering if anyone has built a specific load for the abolt and can give me some advice? Thanks

I'm new to long range hunting and reloading. I am looking for a good .300 WSM load for Elk. I am thinking of trying the Nosler Accubond or Hornady SST in 180 gr. I have a Browing A-Bolt Medallion with a 23" barrel and 1 in 10" twist. I was wondering if anyone has built a specific load for the abolt and can give me some advice? Thanks

I would look at IMR/H 4350, RL19, RL17.. Those three should all get you above 2900 and I am betting it wouldn't take too much to find an accurate load. Never worked with an ABolt much, but around 67-68 grains of RL19, WW case and CCI250 would get you in the ballpark I bet.

Unless you want to take a chance on a wounded animal, forget the sst. They are very frangible and good for deer only. Stay with a premium bullet. The ssts dynamite on deer, let alone elk.

I will look into the RL-19. What other bullet would you recommend for Elk? I have been thinking about just using the Nosler Accubond, but using the Nosler Ballistic Tips to work up a load since they have the same ballistics and are about $10 cheaper a box.

I will look into the RL-19. What other bullet would you recommend for Elk? I have been thinking about just using the Nosler Accubond, but using the Nosler Ballistic Tips to work up a load since they have the same ballistics and are about $10 cheaper a box.