175 smk or 168 smk for 308 winchester?

predator1

had my mind made up and talked into the 168 smk but upon further research i think the 175 is a better bulletweight all around for targets to paper as long as the accuracy is there. intended use is steel and paper to 800 and deer and coyets to 600 yards max . is the 175 the best choice? mostly steel and paper as for im new to longrange shooting and want to become profficient past 400 hundred yards. i might stretch the targets to 1 k eventually but for now 800 yards and under 4 targets.

had my mind made up and talked into the 168 smk but upon further research i think the 175 is a better bulletweight all around for targets to paper as long as the accuracy is there. intended use is steel and paper to 800 and deer and coyets to 600 yards max . is the 175 the best choice? mostly steel and paper as for im new to longrange shooting and want to become profficient past 400 hundred yards. i might stretch the targets to 1 k eventually but for now 800 yards and under 4 targets.

I have tested and used both in the 308 extensivly. My $.02 is this. The 168 is a great bullet out to 600 yards. Some rifles will like the bullet well enough to keep good groups past that, some will not. If you ever shoot the 168 at medium velocities in dense air, they will not reach the 1K mark. They will go subsonic, destabilize, tumble and fall out of the sky.

The 175 has a MUCH better BC over the 168 and doesnt seem to shed its BC as fast as the 168. The 175 can be fired at almost the same speeds as the 168. IMHO the 175 makes the 168 near obsolete as a target bullet. If your 308 shootes the 168 better, then I would use that one. If it likes the 175 the same or better, obviously you should use the 175. I have fired the 175 at 2550 FPS at sealevel in -15 degrees and still made clean holes at 1K.

To sum it up, you should try both. If you dont have the time or money, I would go with the 175.