168 grain Berger VLD-H performance?

JA1989

Hey guys, looking for some reviews. I've been hunting for years and am now venturing into longer range hunting, 500-1000 yards. Shooting a custom build .280 Ackley improved, my best load for this gun is a 168 grain Berger VLD-H. When I do my part it will shoot .5-.75 moa out to 1000. However, I have little hunting experience with this bullet. The few deer I've shot with it have been at 300 yards or less, and all have ran from 40-125 yards after the shot with exit wounds and sparse blood trails. Performance has not exactly blown me away. Looking to get reviews from others on this bullet. Thanks

Hey guys, looking for some reviews. I've been hunting for years and am now venturing into longer range hunting, 500-1000 yards. Shooting a custom build .280 Ackley improved, my best load for this gun is a 168 grain Berger VLD-H. When I do my part it will shoot .5-.75 moa out to 1000. However, I have little hunting experience with this bullet. The few deer I've shot with it have been at 300 yards or less, and all have ran from 40-125 yards after the shot with exit wounds and sparse blood trails. Performance has not exactly blown me away. Looking to get reviews from others on this bullet. Thanks
My cousin shot 168 vlds in his 7 RM into several elk in Lewistown, Mt and was less than impressed!
I cant vouch that the tips were not damaged or plugged, but thats was his story.